Fri. Feb 23rd, 2024
Assam CM

Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma has been honoured with the prestigious Lee Kuan Yew Exchange Fellowship of Singapore for his remarkable contribution to public service and development, according to an official statement issued on Sunday.

What’s Lee Kuan Yew Exchange Fellowship ?

The fellowship is awarded to eminent individuals who have made significant impact on the growth of their nation and fostered strong ties with Singapore. The fellowship was established in 1991 as a tribute to Lee Kuan Yew, Singapore’s founding Prime Minister, for his visionary leadership and achievements. The patron of the fellowship is the current Prime Minister of Singapore.

Sarma’s Response:

As a part of the fellowship, Sarma has been invited to visit Singapore as a Lee Kuan Yew Fellow for his “dedicated leadership” in public works and development, the statement said. He will have the opportunity to interact with senior Singaporean officials and leaders from various sectors and share his insights and experiences.

Sarma expressed his “profound gratitude” at receiving the award and said that it was a recognition of Assam’s growing global stature and potential. He also said that he looked forward to visiting Singapore and learning from its best practices and innovations.

Sarma is the first chief minister from Assam to receive this prestigious fellowship. He joins the league of distinguished personalities such as former Union Minister Arun Shourie, Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, and former Vice Chairman of Planning Commission Montek Singh Ahluwalia, who have been conferred with this honour in the past.

The award comes at a time when Sarma has been leading Assam with a focus on development, governance, security, and welfare. He has initiated several reforms and schemes to boost the economy, infrastructure, health, education, and social sectors of the state. He has also been instrumental in maintaining peace and harmony in the region and strengthening relations with neighbouring countries.

Assam Congress is Writing Letter to Singapore Govt. to withdraw their decision:

The fellowship has also drawn criticism from the opposition Congress party in Assam, which has questioned Sarma’s suitability for such an honour. Assam Congress president Bhupen Kumar Borah said that he was astounded by the Singapore government’s decision to award the fellowship to Sarma, who he accused of being involved in financial scams and making communal statements against minorities. Borah also said that Sarma’s government had failed to provide basic services to citizens and had pushed the state into deeper debt. Borah announced that he would write to the Singapore government through its embassy in India to request the withdrawal of the fellowship awarded to Sarma.

Himanta Biswa Sharma is getting Top Singapore Fellowship: Congress Reacted

Who else got Lee Kuan Yew Exchange Fellowship?

Apart from Sarma, some of the other notable recipients of this fellowship from different countries are Ibrahim Saad (Malaysia), Fadel Muhammad (Indonesia), Thaksin Shinawatba (Thailand), Haji Badruddin (Brunei), Edgardo Javier Angara (Philippines), Xiang Huaaicheng (China), Hajeme Faunada (Japan), Truong Tan Sang (Vietnam), Bill English (New Zealand), Somphong Mongkhonvilay (laos), You Jong-Keun (Korea), Richard Haass (USA), Aun Pon Moniroth (Cambodia), Nobutaka Machimura (Japan), Manula Roxas II (Philippines), Mustafa Mohamed (Malaysia), Princess Hajah Masna (Brunei), Chaturon Chaisang (Thailand), Mulyani (Indonesia), David Malon (Canada) Ngueyn Tan Dung (Vietnam), Baassem Awadallah (Jordan), Ir Kuntoro Mangkusubroto (Indonesia), Sehri Ahmad Husni Bin Mohammad Hanadzlah (Malaysia), Mark Arbib (Australia), Gregory Hunt (Australia), Fang Xinghai (China), Hu Xizolian (China), lord Mandelson (UK), Haji Abu Bakar Bin Haji Apong (Brunei), Ai Ping (China), Simon Bridges (New Zealand), Peter R Orszag (USA), Joe Hockey (Australia), Michele A Flournoy (USA), Katusya Okada (Japan), Vo Van Thuong (Vietnam), Neal S Wolin (USA), Princess Bajrakitiyabha Mahidol (Thailand), Haji Abdul Rahman Bin Haji Ibrahim (Brunei) and Saifuddin Abdullah (Malaysia).

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This website uses cookies to ensure that you get the best experience.
Learn More
Copy link
We only send notifications for Top Posts Ok No